Jump to content

Ācārya Kundakunda’s Bārasa Aņuvekkhā – The Twelve Contemplations आचार्य कुन्दकुन्द विरचित बारस अणुवेक्खा (द्वादश अनुप्रेक्षा, बारह भावना) 1.0.0

   (0 reviews)


7 Screenshots

About This File

Main Author: Ācārya Kundakunda

Editor and Translator: Vijay K. Jain

Divine Blessings: Ācārya Viśuddhasāgara Muni

Publisher: Dehradun : Vikalp Printers, December 2021

Subjects: Jainism – Doctrines – Early works to 1800

Jaina Philosophy, Jaina Ethics

Description: xxx + 234 p. (264 p.) ; 24 cm x 17 cm

ISBN: 9789355661340

Format: Book; Hard-bound

Language Note: Prakrit, Hindi and English


Bārasa Aņuvekkhā – ‘The Twelve Contemplations’ – of Ācārya Kundakunda (circa 1st century BC) contains 91 verses (gāthā). ‘Aņuvekkhā’, ‘aņupekkhā’, ‘anuprekşā’, and ‘bhāvanā’ are synonyms; these terms are used in Prākrit, Apabhramśa, Sanskrit and Hindi languages, respectively. Contemplation means ‘meditating on the nature of the Reality’.

The uniqueness of Ācārya Kundakunda’s exposition is that he has described each contemplation both from the empirical (vyavahāra) as well as the transcendental (niścaya) points-of-view (naya).

These contemplations help a man practise moral virtues, like forbearance (kşamā), and lead to highly effective stoppage (samvara) of karmas. He who does contemplation observes properly the moral virtues and also endures the afflictions.

What's New in Version 1.0.0   See changelog


No changelog available for this version.


User Feedback

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

  • Create New...